Coleambally heads to the polls as Evans steps aside

The Coleambally Council by-election is too close to call as counting stops for Saturday. 

Less than 10 first preference votes separate the three candidates. Pat Brown currently leads the count on 127 votes.

He is followed by Haidee Laycock on 119 and Shane Brown sitting at 118 first preference votes. 

The declaration for first preference votes should be known on Tuesday after the close of postal voting on Monday evening. 

According to the NSW electoral website, a formal declaration of results should be known sometime on Wednesday. 

The by-election was triggered Austin Evans’ resignation from Murrumbidgee Council. 


Mr Evans advised of his intention to formally resign from his position as Councillor at the December 2017 Council meeting, where Mayor, Cr McRae thanked Mr Evans for his commitment to Murrumbidgee Council.

Mr Evans was lauded for his contributions as Council’s Administrator and more recently as an elected Councillor.

“I would like to thank Cr Evans for his contribution to Murrumbidgee Council,” Cr McRae said.

“I wish him well in the next phase of his political career and I hope the experience will be challenging and productive.”

Cr Evans was elected to the Murrumbidgee Shire Council in 2012 before becoming the Deputy Mayor of the Shire in 2013 and Mayor in 2014.

He was elected as the Member for Murray at a by-election last year after the retirement of long-serving member Adrian Piccoli.